Opposition to take out protest march against adjournment of monsoon session of Parliament

Opposition parties have decided to take out a march on Thursday to protest the curtailment of the monsoon session of Parliament. This march will be held from Parliament to Vijay Chowk, followed by a press conference by Opposition leaders, including Rahul Gandhi.

According to sources, both floor leaders and Opposition MPs will participate in the protest march.

The protest march will be preceded by an urgent meeting of floor leaders of Opposition parties in both houses. This meeting will be held in the chambers of Rajya Sabha Leader of Opposition (LoP) Mallikarjun Kharge.

READ: OBC Bill: After Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha too passes amendment to restore power of states

Opposition MPs have been asked to gather at Mahatma Gandhi’s statue on Parliament grounds at 10 am for the protest march.

The leaders of as many as 15 Opposition parties will be part of the protest march.

These include the Congress party, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), Trinamool Congress (TMC), Samajwadi Party (SP), Shiv Sena, National Conference, CPM, CPI, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Indian Union Muslim League (IUML), Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP), Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK), Kerala Congress (Mani) and Loktantrik Janata Dal (LJD).

On Wednesday, both houses of Parliament were adjourned sine die after the 127th Amendment to the Constitution was passed in the Rajya Sabha.

READ: Pains that Lok Sabha did not run smoothly during Monsoon session: Speaker Om Birla

The amendment to restore states’ powers to draft their own list of Other Backward Castes (OBCs) for reservation in jobs and educational institutions was passed with a majority in the Lok Sabha on Tuesday.

The Opposition staged uproar throughout the monsoon session, demanding a discussion in Parliament over the Pegasus snooping scandal and the three farm laws.

Addressing the Upper House on Wednesday, Rajya Sabha chairman Venkaiah Naidu broke down and said he could “not sleep” owing to the ruckus by Opposition MPs.

Source link

Leave a Comment